

Second Announcement

Symposium Scope

The International Symposium on Fusion Nuclear Technology (ISFNT) has been recognized as one of the main international gathering for fusion energy and technology development. The main goal of the ISFNT is fostering collaborations among scientists and engineers working on the many technical disciplines of the field and to exploit synergies that have arisen in order to identify means to solve the key issues in Fusion Nuclear Science and Technology (FNST).

The Symposium focuses on both near-term fusion devices and long-term reactor technologies. Contributions related to the science, engineering, facilities, modeling, analysis, design and safety are encouraged.

Technical Topics

- A: First-wall Technology and High Heat Flux Components
- B: Blanket Technology
- C: Fuel Cycle and Tritium Processing
- D: Material Engineering for FNT
- E: Vacuum Vessel
- F: Nuclear System Design
- G: Safety Issues and Waste Management
- . H: Models and Experiments for FNT
- I: Repair and Maintenance
- J: Burning Plasma Control and Operation
- K: Inertial Confinement Fusion Studies and Technologies
- L: Fission-fusion Synergy and Crosscutting Technologies

The working language of the symposium and the proceedings is English.

Scientific Program and Publication

The Symposium will consist of invited and contributed technical papers. Both oral presentation sessions and poster sessions are planned. Technical papers will be examined by the Elsevier peer review process and accepted papers will be published in a special Symposium proceedings volume of Fusion Engineering and Design.





Call for abstracts

Authors are invited to submit abstracts, clearly stating the purpose, the principal results and major conclusions of the work to be presented at the conference. **Abstract submission form is now available and the deadline is 15th of January 2013.** Further information on how to proceed is available in http://www.isfnt-11.org/call_abstracts.html

Miya-Abdou Award

Significant contributions to development of fusion nuclear technology are recognized by nominations to the Miya-Abdou Award for Outstanding Technical Contributions to the Field of Fusion Nuclear Science and Technology. The ISFNT International Standing Committee encourages colleagues to nominate peers meeting the award criteria. A monetary reward is provided to the winning candidate.

International Industrial Fusion Business Forum

An International Industrial Fusion Business Forum will be held in combination with the ISFNT-11, allowing the main actors of the nuclear fusion, from research institutions up to industry, to interact in a dedicated Forum, like an Industrial Workshop and an Industrial Exhibition.

An Industrial Workshop with Technical Sessions including business to business meetings and business to customers meetings will be organized within the Symposium Program. Companies, institutions and research centers will also be able to participate in the Industrial Exhibition that will be held during the Forum.

Satellite Meetings

Dedicated meeting rooms will be available in the venue for satellite meetings during the Symposium.

If you wish to organize a specific satellite meeting to the conference, please contact Scientific Secretary Dr. A. Ibarra at scientificsecretary@isfnt11.org or LOC Chair M. Sanmartí at loc@isfnt11.org.

Technical visits

Technical visits will be organized within the Symposium Program.

Key Dates

- Abstract Due Date 15 January 2013
- Author Notifications 28 February 2013
- Registration Available 15 March 2013
- Deadline for Early Registration 15 May 2013
- Nominations Due for the Miya-Abdou Award 15 May 2013
- Deadline for Manuscript Submission 31 August 2013
- Symposium Convened 16 20 September 2013

Symposium Committee

Honorary Chair: Dr. F. Xavier Mena, Minister of Enterprise and Labour, Catalonia General Chair: Dr. J. Sánchez, Director of Nacional Fusion Laboratory (CIEMAT)

General Co-Chair: Dr. F. Briscoe, Director of Fusion for Energy.

Scientific Secretary: Dr. A. Ibarra (CIEMAT).

LOC Chair: M. Sanmarti (IREC)

Local Organizing Committee: I. Martínez (IREC), O. Nomen (IREC), D. Dabbah (CIEMAT), F. Carbajo (CIEMAT), A. García (CIEMAT), G. Prats (ACC10), G. Domakowski (b_TEC), A. del Cerro (CDTI), J. Dies (UPC), B. Perier (F4E).



ISFNT International Standing Committee Members

Chair: H. Takatsu. JAEA, Japan

M. Abdou. UCLA, USA

L. Boccaccini. FZK, Germany

S. Cho. NFRI, Korea

S. Deshpande. IPR, India

G. Federici. EFDA, Germany

K. Feng. SWIP, China

L. Giancarli. ITER, France

T. Hayashi. JAEA, Japan

B. Hong. Chonbuk National University, Korea

A. Ibarra. CIEMAT, Spain

G. Janeschitz. ITER, France

A. Kohyama. Kyoto University, Japan

E. Rajendra. Kumar IPR, India

R. Lässer. F4E, Spain

J. Li. ASIPP, China

D. Maisonnier. European Commision

I. Mazul. EFREMOV, Russia

K. McCarthy. INL, USA

W. Meier. LLNL, USA

B. J Merrill. INL, USA

N. Morley. UCLA, USA

C. Pan. SWIP, China

Y. Poitevin, F4E, Spain

J. Sánchez. CIEMAT, Spain

Y. Strebkov. NIKIET, Russia

S. Tanaka. Tokyo University, Japan

Y. Wan. USTC China

Y. Wu. ASIPP, China

International Programme Committee

M. Y. Ahn, Korea

P. Batistoni, EU

L. Boccaccini, EU

S. Cho, Korea

C. Day, EU

L. Deli, China

S. Desphande, India

E. Diegele, EU

M. Enoeda, Japan

W. Farong, China

G. Federici, EU

K. Feng, China

J. M. Filhol, EU

U. Fischer, EU

L. Giancarli, ITER Organization

A. Hasegawa, Japan

T. Hayashi, Japan

Y.S. Hwang, Korea

G. Janeschitz, ITER Organization

G. Kalinin, Russia

S. Khirwadkar, India

A. Kohyama, Japan

S. Konishi, Japan

R. Kurtz, USA

D. W. Lee, Korea

N. Mingjiu, China

P. Magaud, EU

D. Maissonier. EU

I. Mazul, Russia

W. Meier, USA

M. Merola, ITER Organization

B. Merril, USA

A. B. Mineev, Russia

N. Morley, USA

R. Nygren, USA

K. Okuno, Japan

Y. Poitevin, EU

H. Qunying, China

R. Raffray, ITER Organization

E. Rajendra Kumar, India

S. Reyes, USA

B. Rodchenkov, Russia

A. Sagara, Japan

S. Smolentsev, USA

R. Srinivasan, India

Y. Strebkov, Russia

S. Suzuki, Japan

H. Tanigawa, Japan N. Taylor, ITER Organization

M. Q. Tran, EU

Y. Ueda, Japan

M. A. Ulrickson, USA

C. Wong, USA

Y. Wu, China

J. Xin. China

T. Yamanishi, Japan

A. Ying, USA

www.isfnt-11.org



Venue

Palau de Congressos de Barcelona Avda. Reina Maria Cristina s/n 08004 Barcelona

Website

Additional information on the symposium and the Barcelona area is available at the symposium website, http://www.isfnt-11.org. Check in frequently for the latest information.

Contact

Local Organizing Committee: loc@isfnt11.org















